A Columnist I enjoyed

Screen Shot 2018-02-27 at 7.14.53 PM

Matthew Hansen of the Omaha World Herald wrote a column about the real-life Rosie the Riveter back in 2016, about how all this time we thought she was someone else.

Naomi Parker Fraley passed away earlier this year, and Hansen revisited his unearthing of Rosie.

Screen Shot 2018-02-27 at 7.14.41 PM

The fact is, Rosie the Riveter was a big deal during WWII, to encourage women to make up for the men who went to work overseas, and then wasn’t really seen of until the 90’s. As a sign for the feminist movement, I obviously love her and all stories about her real life and the affect she had on people.

Even more so, I love the story that Hansen tells of her life, and how she came to be the amazing Rosie.

71oRoQoDFAL._SY550_

Screen Shot 2018-02-27 at 7.13.07 PM

 

 

I was even Rosie for Halloween this last year, not a bad resemblance, right??

 

 

 

Hansen has written several columns advocating for women, and most of all, he writes things that are interesting and important to people. He writes human interest stories about people, he writes about Omaha, he writes about rural communities. I like his work because it makes me want to read it, and it keeps me interested throughout, and it gives me the occasional warm fuzzies inside.

 

 

Leave a comment